House: Vote on Continuing Resolution with a One-Year Delay of the ACA Individual Mandate

Below we use Optimal Classification (OC) in R to plot the House’s 225-204 vote to approve a rule on a revised version of the Continuing Resolution that includes a one-year delay of the Affordable Care Act’s individual mandate and its 228-201 vote to pass the CR, sending it to the Senate.

There was some talk about a “moderate revolution” within the GOP caucus — perhaps 25 members — who would vote against the rule to push forward a “clean” CR without any Obamacare language. However, only six Republicans broke party ranks on the vote on the rule. Moreover, only two of the six could be classified as moderates: Reps. Charlie Dent (R-PA) and Peter King (R-NY). The other four defections were from very conservative Republican MCs who want more provisions concerning the ACA, especially defunding language. Twelve Republicans defected on the CR passage vote, but this included conservative Republicans like Reps. Michelle Bachmann (R-MN), Phil Gingrey (R-GA), Louis Gohmert (R-TX), and Thomas Massie (R-KY) (the second-most conservative members of the 113th House, according to the OC results). Clearly, the moderate revolution in the Republican caucus fizzled on this vote.

There is a clearer ideological divide on the CR vote among House Democrats. The 9 Democrats who supported this version of the CR are clearly among the most moderate of the Democratic caucus; including Reps. John Barrow (D-GA), Jim Matheson (D-UT), and Mike McIntyre (D-NC), all of whom are “Blue Dog” Democrats representing red districts.

Click images to enlarge

This entry was posted in 113th Congress. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.