Now loading. . .  

Parties > Party 1275

About the Anti-Jackson Party
The presidential election of 1824 featured four major candidates, all Democrat-Republicans: John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, William Crawford, and Henry Clay. Party labels during this time of transition mostly identify congressional representatives with the candidate that they supported in the election of 1824. The close election resulted in no candidate earning a majority of electoral votes, but after Henry Clay supported John Quincy Adams, Adams was ultimately elected. Supporters of this bloc in the House and Senate are subsequently labeled "Adams Supporters"; while supporters of Andrew Jackson's candidacy are subsequently labeled "Jackson Supporters". In the 1828 Presidential Election, Adams was defeated by Jackson. Adams Supporters within the Democratic-Republican party and Jackson opponents across the country adopt a variety of different labels including "National Republicans", "Clay Men", and "pro-Bank". In keeping with Martis, Ken. The Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress, 1789-1989, we list these representatives as Anti-Jacksonians until the emergence of the Second Party System in the 25th Congress and the establishment of the Whig Party.

Party 1275 ideology over time reset

Party 1275 geographic control over time Animate

Filter: Chamber Control

Jump to Year:

Jump to Congress:

1275 serving over time reset


(Sort by Name, State, Ideology, Seniority)