Now loading. . .  

Parties > Party 555

About the Jackson Party
The presidential election of 1824 featured four major candidates, all Democrat-Republicans: John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, William Crawford, and Henry Clay. Party labels during this time of transition mostly identify congressional representatives with the candidate that they supported in the election of 1824. The close election resulted in no candidate earning a majority of electoral votes, but after Henry Clay supported John Quincy Adams, Adams was ultimately elected. Supporters of this bloc in the House and Senate are subsequently labeled "Adams Supporters"; while supporters of Andrew Jackson's candidacy are subsequently labeled "Jackson Supporters". Jackson subequently defeated Adams in the 1828 presidential election. Those Democratic-Republicans who supported Jackson continue to be labeled Jackson Supporters until the 25th Congress, where the remaining Adams supporters and other opponents of Jackson emerge as the Whig Party, and the remaining Jackson supporters in the Democratic-Republican party increasingly adopt the name Democratic Party.

Party 555 ideology over time reset

Party 555 geographic control over time Animate

Filter: Chamber Control

Jump to Year:

Jump to Congress:

555 serving over time reset


(Sort by Name, State, Ideology, Seniority)