Now loading. . .  

Parties > Party 8000

About the Adams-Clay Federalist Party
The presidential election of 1824 featured four major candidates, all Democrat-Republicans: John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, William Crawford, and Henry Clay. Clay ultimately supported John Quincy Adams when the election was decided in the US House of Representatives. Members elected to the Eighteenth Congress are identified by a combination of their party label ("Federalist") and the candidate they supported for President ("Adams"). Upon President Adams' election, records Adams-Clay supporters, irrespective of their original electoral party, as Adams Supporters. Following the 1828 Presidential Election, when Adams lost re-election to Andrew Jackson, Adams Supporters begin being identified as Anti-Jacksonians until the eventual formation of the Whig Party in the 24th Congress.

Party 8000 ideology over time reset

Party 8000 geographic control over time Animate

Filter: Chamber Control

Jump to Year:

Jump to Congress:

8000 serving over time reset


(Sort by Name, State, Ideology, Seniority)